© 2018 by KAAN / Site Produced by LOVAGE INC Contact KAAN at info@wearekaan.org

KAAN is a project of The Foundation for Enhancing Communities, fiscal sponsor. Donations are tax-deductible.

  • KAAN

Meet Your AC: Alyson Yost

Name: Alyson Yost

Gender Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Where do you call home? Harrisburg, PA, USA


Tell us a little about yourself. How do you spend your time outside of KAAN?

Outside of KAAN I am a mother to a 5 and 8 year old. I also volunteer on many other boards and committees in my area, I attend graduate school, and work as a Registered Nurse. In my spare time I enjoy spending time with friends and going to the gym.

G.O.A.L’s 1st trip Home 2010

What is your role on the Advisory Council?

Membership Committee and board member on the AC.


How did you hear about KAAN? How did you decide to get involved in the AC?

I googled Korean Adoptee groups in 2010 and KAAN was in Hershey, PA that year which is 10 minutes from my house.

Nicholas, me, and Bevin at the KAAN conference 2019

How many KAAN conferences have you attended?

This year will be my 10th KAAN conference


What issues/topics related to adoption are you most interested in? (e.g., What types of topics have you presented on or attended at previous KAAN conferences?)

I have presented on parenting as an adoptee, relationships, mothering as an adoptee, microaggressions and stereotypes, and milestones as an adoptee.

Emma and I ice skating 2020

What do you love most about the KAAN community?

Gathering with old friends and meeting new members of the KAAN community.


What a fun or random fact people might not know about you?

I have fractured 10 bones. I know that’s a little ridiculous.

Carter and Emma before school 2019

Anything else you'd like to share with the KAAN community?

I am grateful to have found the KAAN community and look forward to what the future holds for the organization.

12 views